Carrier 28B Nu-Fin coils (2007): catalogue heating capacities and dry friction against the plate-fin chain
Tier 3: CFD, co-simulation or another model.
System: Dry cooler, plate-fin coil
- What was compared
- The heating capacity per unit face area and the dry air-side pressure drop of Carrier's 28BH plate-fin water coils of one and two rows at 8, 11 and 14 fins per inch, and the dry air-side friction of its 28BC coils of 4 to 10 rows, rated through the dry cooler's plate-fin chain.
- Against
- The manufacturer's catalogue ratings from its selection program (Carrier, Form 28B-3PD, 2007, pp. 10, 11, 13 and 35). The document does not state AHRI certification, and the case is Tier 3.
- The agreement
- On the tube layout the printed water balance supports, the heating capacity lies between −11.8% and +19.8% of the catalogue (mean +8.9%); on the other layout it lies between −27.4% and −3.2% (mean −13.3%). The 28BH dry pressure drops read +13.4% on average, and the 28BC friction reads +50.6% or −42.3% depending on the layout, which the catalogue does not state.
- What it shows
- The heat side of the plate-fin chain lands within 15% of the manufacturer's capacity on average under either reading of the layout. The loss side cannot be judged until the tube pitches and the fin corrugation are stated, and a catalogue rating is not a measurement of the relations.
- Source
- Carrier Corporation, 'Nu-Fin coils 28BC, BH, BB, BD, BF, BX, BZ: product data', Form 28B-3PD, 2007p. 13 (28BH heating capacities, notes on the rating condition and the coil it is based on), p. 10-11 (28BH construction: 1/2 in tubes, 0.016 in wall, 8/11/14 fins per inch, 1 or 2 rows, 2.5 in height increments), p. 35 (28BC 1/2 in cooling coil air friction)